Last updated: August 9, 2021

Our method

17Products analysed

27Hours spent

14Evaluated articles

85User reviews

Welcome to our big lactose-free chocolate test 2021. Here we present all the lactose-free chocolates we have tested in detail. We have compiled detailed background information and added a summary of customer reviews on the internet.

We would like to make your purchase decision easier and help you find the best lactose-free chocolate for you. You can also find answers to frequently asked questions in our guide. If available, we also offer interesting test videos. Furthermore, you will also find some important information on this page that you should be aware of if you want to buy lactose-free chocolate.




Summary

  • Lactose-free chocolate contains no or hardly any lactose and is therefore suitable for people with lactose intolerance.
  • There is a wide range of lactose-free chocolate products.
  • Lactose-free chocolate is almost identical to conventional chocolate in terms of processing and taste.

The Best Lactose-free chocolate: Our Choices

Guide: Questions you should ask yourself before buying lactose-free chocolate

What is lactose-free chocolate?

Lactose-free chocolate is (usually) made without milk or milk products. This means it does not contain lactose (milk sugar) and is suitable for people with a lactose intolerance.

A chocolate is considered lactose-free if it does not exceed the limit of 10 mg lactose per 100 g chocolate.

This means that traces of lactose may be present even in a lactose-free chocolate. However, this value is so low that it is considered harmless for people with lactose intolerance. It is therefore possible that you will find the terms milk or milk components on the ingredients list of a lactose-free chocolate. However, the chocolate may still be lactose-free.

How does lactose-free chocolate differ from conventional chocolate?

Unlike conventional chocolate, lactose-free chocolate contains little or no milk sugar (lactose). The ingredients in the different chocolates can still be the same. Lactose-free chocolate does not generally contain no lactose or milk powder, nor does it necessarily contain no cow's milk. The difference lies in the processing. In the production of lactose-free chocolate, the producers add an enzyme, usually lactase. This enzyme causes the lactose to break down into glucose and galactose during the chocolate production process.

Lactase is also the enzyme that the body uses to break down the lactose during digestion. If this enzyme is present in the body in too small quantities, or is even missing, the body cannot break down and digest the lactose properly. This is called lactose intolerance. If the lactose has already been broken down in the production process, it is practically already "pre-digested". This helps the body to digest it and the milk sugar no longer causes problems.

Due to the splitting of the lactose into glucose and galactose, lactose-free chocolate can taste somewhat sweeter than conventional chocolate. This is due to the stronger sweetening power of the broken down simple sugars. Some producers get around adding the enzyme by using soy milk or other milk substitutes to produce their lactose-free chocolate. In general, the problem of lactose is more prevalent in milk chocolates than in dark dark chocolates. This is due to the milk content in the chocolates. Many dark chocolates are generally lactose-free.

How much does lactose-free chocolate cost?

Lactose-free chocolate is slightly more expensive than regular chocolate. You can buy lactose-free chocolate from around 1.80 € per 100 g. If you want to buy lactose-free chocolate with additional ingredients, e.g. fruits, nuts, etc., it is even more expensive. Such chocolates are available from around 3.00 € per 100 g.

Type of lactose-free chocolate price
Lactose-free chocolate bars from around 1.80 € per 100 g
Lactose-free chocolate with fruits, nuts ect. from around 3.00 € per 100 g

What variations and alternatives are there to lactose-free chocolate?

As an alternative to lactose-free chocolate, you can of course buy conventional chocolate. However, conventional chocolate with a (high) milk content is not suitable for people with lactose intolerance. If you prefer dark chocolate, there are also conventional products that do not contain lactose. Many dark chocolates can also be eaten with a lactose intolerance without hesitation. However, pay attention to the ingredients.

Lactose-free chocolate is also available in many varieties, including white chocolate. Nuts or fruit are often added. There are also many other lactose-free chocolate products, such as chocolate biscuits. You should pay attention to the labelling on the packaging or use brands that specialise in lactose-free products.

Decision: What types of lactose-free chocolate are there and which is right for you?

Basically, there are two different types of lactose-free chocolate. There is the lactose-free chocolate bar and other lactose-free chocolate products, e.g. pralines or chocolate biscuits. In the following, we will introduce you to both types.

What distinguishes lactose-free chocolate bars and what are the advantages and disadvantages?

Lactose-free chocolate, which has no other ingredients such as nuts, fruit etc., is the classic product. It is usually available in bar form, just like conventional chocolate. The shape of the chocolate varies depending on the manufacturer. Most lactose-free chocolates are sold in a rectangular format, but there are also square bars, or particularly small bars. The latter are especially available in packs with several flavours. Lactose-free chocolate bars come in different variations:

  • White lactose-free chocolate
  • Lactose-free milk chocolate
  • Dark lactose-free dark chocolate

The cocoa content can vary. It is up to your personal taste which of these varieties you choose. All products marked as such are suitable for people with lactose intolerance. Some dark chocolates are lactose-free by default, depending on the ingredients. However, you can make sure that the product does not contain lactose by looking at the label or checking the ingredients. Unlike other lactose-free chocolate products, lactose-free chocolate bars do not normally contain any other allergenic substances, such as gluten.

Even nut allergy sufferers can eat most bars of lactose-free chocolate without hesitation. Many lactose-free chocolate bars are also vegan. Some products are made without refined sugar or sweetened with natural sweeteners such as dates. Lactose-free chocolate can taste slightly sweeter than conventional chocolate, although it does not contain more sugar. The early breakdown of lactose produces two simple sugars: glucose and galactose. These are slightly sweeter than the lactose.

Advantages
  • Suitable for lactose intolerance
  • Various variations
  • Usually gluten-free
  • Often vegan
Disadvantages
  • Tastes slightly sweeter than normal chocolate

What distinguishes lactose-free chocolates and other chocolate products and what are the advantages and disadvantages?

There are many variants of normal lactose-free chocolate bars For example, you can buy chocolate bars with nuts. There are also chocolate bars with fruit, e.g. sultanas, cranberries or raspberries. They offer a good change from plain chocolate bars. These variants are often available as milk or dark chocolate, but white chocolate is also on the market - lactose-free in each case. With these varieties, you must be aware of possible intolerances to nuts or certain fruits when buying.

There are also lactose-free chocolates. Here you should also pay attention to the ingredients and the lactose-free label. There are also many lactose-free chocolate products, such as chocolate biscuits, chocolate slices, chocolate bars or chocolate puddings. These are available in many variations. The chocolate itself can also vary, but it is often dark or milk chocolate. We would recommend that you look for accurate labelling on the packaging of these products or use brands that specialise in lactose-free products.

This way you can be sure that the chocolate really does not contain lactose. Due to the additional ingredients, e.g. gluten in biscuits, nuts etc., you should pay particular attention to the list of ingredients. Especially if you have other intolerances (gluten, fructose, etc.) you should be careful. However, most products are well labelled if they are lactose- or gluten-free. The labelling of vegan chocolate products is just as good.

Advantages
  • A change from chocolate bars
  • wide variety of ingredients
  • wide variety of products
Disadvantages
  • May contain gluten
  • may contain nuts or similar

Purchase criteria: You can use these criteria to compare and evaluate lactose-free chocolate

Ingredients

Lactose-free chocolates contain different ingredients - and different amounts of them. The first thing to consider is what kind of lactose-free chocolate you are buying. The ingredients vary depending on the type of chocolate: white, dark or milk. White lactose-free chocolate usually contains (whole) milk powder or another milk product. Here you should make sure that this milk product is clearly declared as lactose-free.

Other ingredients in white lactose-free chocolates are often cocoa butter, vanilla and sugar or another sweetener. Usually an emulsifier is also included, often a soy product. Lactose-free milk chocolate contains similar ingredients to white chocolate. Here, too, it usually contains a milk product, and you should look out for the lactose-free label. In addition, lactose-free milk chocolate contains cocoa mass, cocoa butter, sugar (or another sweetener) and an emulsifier (usually made from soy).

Often you will also find the term clarified butter in the list of ingredients. Although it doesn't sound like it, clarified butter is a lactose-free product. If you decide to buy lactose-free dark chocolate, you can often use products that are not specifically labelled as lactose-free. Many dark chocolates are lactose-free due to their ingredients.

Dark chocolates are usually the type of chocolate with the fewest ingredients. These are often limited to cocoa mass, cocoa butter and a sweetener, e.g. sugar or dates. We have summarised the most common ingredients of the various lactose-free chocolates in the following table.

Lactose-free white chocolate Lactose-free milk chocolate Lactose-free dark chocolate
Lactose-free milk product (powder ect.), cocoa butter, sugar, emulsifier Lactose-free milk product, cocoa mass, cocoa butter, sugar, emulsifier, clarified butter cocoa mass, cocoa butter, sugar

Lactose-free chocolates can also have more ingredients, but these are not always necessary and may not be particularly healthy.

Additives

With all types of lactose-free chocolate, it is not necessary to have flavour enhancers or other additives. There are many high-quality products that do not contain additives and are also very tasty.

You should therefore choose products that contain no additives, preservatives or colourings. However, additives are always clearly visible in the list of ingredients. If products do not contain additives, this is usually indicated separately on the packaging.

Labelling and certification

Labelling of lactose-free products is generally good. If a product does not contain lactose, this is often clearly visible on the packaging. In addition, you will also find good labelling of additives, or e.g. the statement " free from additives". Some lactose-free chocolate products are also vegan. You will also find this labelling on the packaging of the product. If a chocolate is an organic product, this is also indicated on the packaging. This is often supported by an organic seal such as the BIO seal according to the EC Eco Regulation.

Origin

You can also compare lactose-free chocolates based on the origin of the product. If you prefer a regional product, that's fine. However, you should bear in mind that the cocoa in the chocolate cannot come directly from Germany, for example. It has to come from a country where it can be grown. However, you can still look for fair production and environmentally friendly cocoa cultivation in the country of origin. You can also take into account where the cocoa is processed and where the lactose-free chocolate is made. However, this is often not so easy to find out. The origin of the cocoa, on the other hand, is often indicated.

Facts worth knowing about lactose-free chocolate

Is there sugar-free lactose-free chocolate?

Yes, there are a few brands that offer lactose-free and sugar-free chocolate. The chocolate is then sweetened with other sweeteners, e.g. xylitol, erythritol or rice syrup. There are also lactose-free chocolates that do not contain artificial sweeteners. These chocolates are sweetened with dates, for example.

Is there gluten-free lactose-free chocolate?

Most lactose-free chocolates are also gluten-free. If you buy lactose-free chocolate products that are not pure chocolate bars, you have to watch out for gluten, especially in chocolate biscuits. If you are gluten intolerant, check the labelling on the packaging.

What can I use lactose-free chocolate for in the kitchen?

You can use lactose-free chocolate in the kitchen in basically the same way as conventional chocolate.

You can melt lactose-free chocolate and use it to make chocolate sauces, for example. You can also use lactose-free chocolate for chocolate fondue or chocolate fountains. You should use lactose-free cream to liquefy the chocolate.

Can I use lactose-free chocolate in baking?

Yes, you can use lactose-free chocolate in baking. The handling is the same as with conventional chocolate. If you buy lactose-free chocolate coating for your cake, it may contain slightly more fat than normal chocolate coating. This does not change the taste or the processing, it just flows a little easier when warm. This can be an advantage.

Can I make lactose-free chocolate myself?

You can make lactose-free chocolate yourself, just like normal chocolate. There are many different recipes on the internet that you can easily follow. There are no limits to your preferences. You can add whatever you like to the chocolate. Nuts or dried fruit are popular - but it's up to your personal taste. Here is a video in which you can make lactose-free chocolate yourself. The chocolate is also vegan and contains no fructose.

Is there lactose-free chocolate for Christmas or Easter?

Yes, there are also lactose-free chocolate products for certain occasions. For example, you can buy lactose-free chocolate eggs or lactose-free chocolate Santas for the respective season.

Image source: pixabay.com / AlexanderStein

Why you can trust me?

Reviews