Last updated: August 11, 2021

Our method

11Products analysed

27Hours spent

12Evaluated articles

89User reviews

Welcome to our big vegan wine test 2021. Here we present all the vegan wines we have tested in detail. We have compiled detailed background information and added a summary of customer reviews on the web.

We would like to make your purchase decision easier and help you find the best vegan wine for you.

You will also find answers to frequently asked questions in our guide. If available, we also offer interesting test videos. Furthermore, you will also find some important information on this page that you should definitely pay attention to if you want to buy a vegan wine.




The most important Facts

  • Vegan wines differ from conventional wines in their clarification, as the former do without animal proteins such as isinglass and albumin, and the fining is done by activated carbon and bentonite.
  • Basically, a distinction is made between vegan red and white wines, with both variants available in different flavour levels
  • Vegan wines are not only a good alternative for vegans, but are also suitable for allergy sufferers, as they are low in histamine and fructose

The Best Vegan Wine: Our Picks

Guide: Questions you should ask yourself before buying Vegan Wine

What is vegan wine and how is it different from regular wine?

Vegan wine is any wine whose ingredients are derived from non-animal substances and no animal-derived substances are used in vinification, labelling or harvesting. Vegan wine is fundamentally different from conventional wine in the product research, clarification and labelling of the final product.

First of all, there is no animal testing in the development of vegan wine, which, however, may occur in the product research of conventional wine, among other things. Harvesting may also differ from normal harvesting, as winemakers often choose to hand-pick the grapes, as mechanical grape harvesters cannot protect small beetles and beneficial insects.

Vegan wines are based on a purely vegetable clarification and labelling. Thus, vegan wine is an optimal alternative for vegans, vegetarians, allergy sufferers and anyone who cares about animal welfare. (Image source: unsplash.com / Kym Ellis)

The labels on bottles containing vegan wine are applied exclusively with plant-based adhesive. Manufacturers of conventional wine often glue labels with bone glue, which is made from animal products.

The biggest difference between vegan and conventional wine, however, is in the proteins used in the clarification process.

Conventional wine is clarified with animal proteins, most commonly known as albumin (egg white), isinglass (protein from the bladder of a fish), gelatin or casein (proteins derived from skimmed milk), whereas for vegan wine winemakers replace these proteins with bentonite mineral clay (volcanic weathered ash), plant-derived tannins, activated charcoal or plant proteins such as peas, beans and potato starch.

However, there is no difference in taste between conventional and vegan wines, as no animal additives remain in either alcoholic beverage, but normal wine has been in contact with them through the clarification process.

For whom is vegan wine suitable?

In principle, vegan wine is suitable for everyone. Since vegan wine - like conventional wine - contains alcohol, the consumption of vegan wine in Germany is only permitted from the age of 16.

Vegan wine is not only a suitable alternative for vegans, but also for vegetarians, as no animal products are used in the production of the alcoholic beverage.

In addition, allergy sufferers no longer have to forgo the consumption of wine. Many allergy sufferers or people with intolerances are plagued by skin rashes, headaches or migraines as soon as they drink conventional wine.

When consuming vegan wines, these unpleasant side effects do not occur, as vegan wines are often low in histamine and tyramine, both of which are known under the category of biogenic amines, and can thus trigger allergies.

Vegan wine is also a suitable alternative for wine lovers who cannot tolerate fructose, lysozymes (chicken egg proteins), fish gelatine or sulphites, as it is often low in fructose and sulphite-free. However, it should be noted that intolerances can also occur when consuming vegan wine if the consumer has cross-allergies or multiple intolerances.

However, as described at the beginning, vegan wine is also worth considering for non-vegans, especially if you want to protect animals and nature or place a lot of value on sustainability. By switching from conventional wine to vegan wine, animal products are dispensed with, thus ensuring the protection of species and an undisturbed ecosystem.

What does vegan wine consist of?

Vegan wine, like conventional wine, consists mainly of grapes. These consist of water, sugar, minerals and acid. The fermentation process, which turns grapes into alcohol, may eventually produce additional sugar. After fermentation, vegan wine contains between 10 and 15 percent alcohol.

Depending on the desired flavour and wine colour, winemakers add a wide variety of specific aromas, tannins and colouring agents that individually influence the wine's appearance and taste.

Animal raw materials, as well as animal-based contents, are not components of vegan wine. The wine therefore consists of purely plant-based ingredients.

How is vegan wine produced?

The cultivation and harvesting of vegan wine is the same as for normal wine. However, the production process is different after fermentation, i.e. alcoholic fermentation, is complete.

The winemaker ferments the wine and then begins the clarification process, the so-called fining of the wine. This is important to stabilise the wine, make it smooth and free it from turbidity.

In the production of vegan wine, the producer does not use animal products in the fining process and uses alternative means or methods to free the fermented product from polysaccharides, polypeptides and polyphenolic substances that cloud the wine.

The animal substances that are necessary for clarification are replaced in the production of vegan wine by plant proteins that bind the mentioned turbidity substances. After a while, these settle at the bottom of the clarification container and the clarified wine can then be drawn off and is ready for bottling.

How much does vegan wine cost?

The production costs of vegan wines are not higher than those of normal wines, but in part the absence of animal proteins can save money in production. Nevertheless, the content control of vegan wine requires a lot of time, which is a cost factor.

Further costs are incurred in the vegan certification of the wine. On the whole, vegan wines are about as expensive as their conventional counterparts.

There are remarkable price differences between the various vegan wines. Depending on the quality, volumes, origin and winery, the cost to the consumer varies.

The range goes from 0.99 euros to 200 euros. For vegan wine connoisseurs and lovers, as well as allergy sufferers who do not want to or cannot consume conventional wines, the prices for vegan wines seem reasonable.

Vegan red wines, white wines and rosé wines start at a price of 0.99 euros in discount stores, whereas vegan wines from select wineries, as well as wine bottles with larger volumes, are usually more expensive.

If you are interested in a vegan organic wine from a selected winery, you have to reckon with prices starting at just under 7 euros, as these often come from organic cultivation and bear an organic seal, which is why you can only buy them at a more expensive price.

Sparkling and refreshing: sparkling wine and champagne are now also available as vegan versions for festive occasions. (Image source: unsplash.com / Anthony Delanoix)

What are the alternatives to vegan wine?

Alcoholic, wine-like vegan drinks are available in large numbers. Sparkling wine or champagne, for example, offer a perfect alternative.

Each drink convinces with its own individual taste.

In the following section, we will give you a brief overview of the alternatives to vegan wines.

Type Description
Sparkling wine Sparkling wine base wine undergoes a second fermentation process and is refined. Sparkling wine is only vegan if vegan base wine is used for its production. Vegan sparkling wine is a quality sparkling wine and contains at least ten percent alcohol. Vegan sparkling wine is tangy and fresh and should be stored in a cool place or consumed quickly after purchase.
Champagne Vegan Champagne is a vegan sparkling wine that originates from the Champagne wine-growing region and has been aged on yeast in the second fermentation, with clarification taking place with non-animal proteins. Vegan champagne is suitable for exclusive occasions, as it is more expensive than vegan wine due to its strict cultivation regulations.

Each alternative to vegan wine has certain advantages that need to be weighed individually. However, vegan wine seems to outperform the vegan alcohol alternatives.

Note: Vegan wine is priced more affordably than vegan champagne for many consumers and goes well with more dishes than vegan sparkling wine due to its lower carbon dioxide content, which should be stored elaborately.

What Types of Vegan Wines are there and which one is right for you?

If you are interested in vegan wine, there are two alternatives to choose from:

  • Vegan red wine
  • Vegan white wine

The colour of the wine, the level of flavour and occasions that the particular vegan wine can be served with each bring advantages and disadvantages. Depending on what you prefer and your taste preferences, a different type will suit you. In the following section, we would like to make the decision easier for you.

What distinguishes a vegan red wine and what are its advantages and disadvantages?

Vegan red wine, unlike its white counterpart, is said to have a more intense health effect. This is due to the more concentrated polyphenols in vegan red wine, which provide heart health, which can lead to reduced heart disease and atherosclerosis.

Another health benefit that comes from consuming vegan wine is its ability to decelerate cellular ageing by 70 per cent, which can extend a consumer's life expectancy by 10 years.

In addition, vegan red wine decelerates the breakdown of cells in the brain of Alzheimer's patients and helps restore cells. It is also said to have an anti-inflammatory effect, reducing the risk of gingivitis or periodontal disease.

Advantages
  • Reduces diseases in the heart and arteriosclerosis
  • Decelerates cell ageing and can extend life expectancy by 10 years
  • Decelerates cell degeneration in the brain of Alzheimer's patients
  • Anti-inflammatory effect: Reduces periodontal disease and gum inflammation
Disadvantages
  • More expensive than vegan white wine
  • Vegan red wine leads to increase in oestrogen levels and increased likelihood of breast cancer
  • Intense wine colour of vegan red wine results in tooth discolouration

If you are looking for a sweet red wine and don't care about the vegan production, then we have included a link to our red wine comparison.

What distinguishes a vegan white wine and what are its advantages and disadvantages?

In contrast to vegan red wine, vegan white wine is significantly cheaper to buy, as vegan white wine requires less maceration time and is therefore cheaper to produce.

Since vegan white wine has a higher acid content compared to other white wines, the consumer can boost his digestion a lot more with a glass of vegan white wine than with its red competitor. This can make it easier to lose weight, as you may have to give up a calorie or two at dinner, but not a fresh glass of vegan white wine in the evening.

Since there are less intense dyes or pigments in vegan white wine, the wine lover does not have to fear discolouration of the tooth like a red wine fan. In addition, allergy sufferers should also tend to reach for vegan white wine, as it contains a very low histamine content due to its high acidity.

Advantages
  • Cheaper, due to reduced production costs
  • Boosts digestion: makes it easier to lose weight
  • Alternative for allergy sufferers: low histamine content
  • No tooth discolouration
Disadvantages
  • Increased acidity leads to enamel wear
  • Lower health benefits: Contains fewer antioxidants
  • No anti-inflammatory effects

Buying Criteria: Use these Factors to compare and evaluate Vegan Wines

In the following, we will give you a brief overview of the aspects you can use to decide between the diversity of possible vegan wines.

The criteria you can use to compare wines that are suitable for vegans include:

In the coming paragraphs, we'll explain what each criterion is all about.

Taste level

As with conventional wines, there is a wide range of flavour levels for vegan wines, so that every wine lover can find a vegan red or white wine to suit his or her taste. Here, winemakers offer vegan wines that can be considered dry, semi-dry, sweet or sweet.

If you serve vegan wine with hearty dishes, a wine with a residual sugar content of up to 18 g/l and a slightly acidic taste is suitable. Thus, the consumer should rather opt for a dry or semi-dry vegan wine. There are, for example, vegan variants of dry Bordeaux, Chardonnay or Riesling, which are also excellent in a sour wine spritzer.

If you decide on a wine that tastes sweet or even sweetish, it should be noted that the vegan variant also has a residual sugar content of 18 g/l or more and can even reach more than 45 g/l. Sweet and mellow vegan wines, such as a mellow white Riesling from the Spätlese or a sweet red Dunkelfelder, go perfectly with vegan desserts, fruits or cakes.

Flavour level residual sugar content
Dry vegan wine 0-4 g/l
Semi-dry vegan wine 4-18 g/l
Lovely vegan wine 18-45 g/l
Sweet vegan wine 45 g/l or more

Country of origin

As with normal wine, the country of origin of vegan wine also plays an important role in the purchase decision. The countries of origin of vegan wine are just as varied as those of its conventional counterpart.

The country of origin and the environmental conditions influence the taste, intensity and individual character of the vegan wine and quickly make it clear whether the consumer is dealing with a top-quality wine or not.

In the case of vegan wines, the origin of the alcoholic beverage is clearly indicated on the label, so that a consumer becomes directly aware of the slope or region from which the vegan drop comes.

Many German winegrowers now specialise in the production of vegan wine. As a result, vegan wines from the Palatinate, Franconia, Moselle, Mainz, Rheinhessen, Würzburg in Bavaria and Rheingau in particular are making a name for themselves in the vegan wine industry. The Kaiserstuhl region is particularly well-known for vegan wine from Germany.

Of course, other European countries are also offering more and more vegan wines, such as Italy, France, Spain, Austria and Switzerland. With these wines, it should be noted that importing vegan wines from abroad can be associated with increased time and transport costs.

Vintage

When deciding which vegan wine to buy, it is essential to pay attention to the vintage of the vegan wine. This is because the quality of the wine and its individual character can already be assessed before tasting if the vintage is known.

Weather events of the year, the duration of the vegetation period and the beginning of the blossoming of the wine have an extreme influence on the quality of a wine. Due to bad weather conditions, wine lovers should be careful when deciding to buy vegan wines, especially from the years 2000, 2003 and 2006, and taste the wine before purchasing it.

For early-maturing varieties, weather conditions play less of a role and they can therefore be purchased regardless of the vintage. If you are fond of the vegan varieties of Chardonnay or Pinot Noir, you should make sure that the climate was not too hot in the corresponding year, but that the growing region had cool temperatures.

Grape variety

Vegan wines are available in almost all grape varieties in the trade or directly from the winemaker, as the variety is not initially responsible for whether a wine is vegan or non-vegan, but purely its clarification. The grape variety of vegan wines determines the taste, structure and expiry date.

Lovers of vegan red wine will find vegan wines particularly in Rheinhessen and the Palatinate, where especially vegan Burgundy varieties can be purchased, such as Pinot Noir (goes excellently with aromatic dishes), festive Dornfelder, Regent or Schwarzriesling.

But white grape varieties can also be found as vegan variants in online shops and supermarkets. At the top of the list are the vegan mild Müller-Thurgau or the white Riesling, which has a fine and elegant character.

Size

Of course, the size or volume of the bottle also plays an important role in the purchase decision. The capacity of vegan wines ranges from 375 ml, which is also known as 1/2 bottle, to 1500 ml. According to the EU standard, however, most vegan wines are available at a standard size of 750 ml.

Vegan wines are sold in different bottle shapes, depending on the grape variety and volume. Among others, Bordeaux, Burgundy, Schlegel, Champagne and tall bottles, which differ in shape, capacity and material.

In some online shops, you can also buy wine boxes with a capacity of up to 10 litres, from which you can tap vegan wine directly from the wine tube.

Winery

Some wineries, i.e. farms that specialise in growing vines and selling wine, focus on producing pure vegan wine and do not use animal products in ingredients, clarification and labelling.

Often, wineries involved in vegan winemaking are awarded the Vegan Society licence, which guarantees vegan production.

Well-known German wineries that exclusively sell vegan wines are represented in all German states, such as Weingut Pix am Kaiserstuhl, Weingut Scholtens and Weingut Pflüger, as well as many others.

Facts worth knowing about Vegan Wine

How is vegan wine labelled?

It is not always easy to tell directly whether a wine is vegan or not. Nevertheless, indications of vegan certification can be seen on wine labels in the supermarket.

Currently, the V-Lable of the European Vegetarian Union, the Vegan Flower of the Vegan Society or the symbol of the German Vegetarian Association are in circulation in Germany.

Wines bearing these labels are subject to random checks on ingredients and processing aids in order to exclude animal substances.

A large proportion of the wines available in supermarkets are vegan and thus based on non-animal clarification. Often these are not labelled as explicitly vegan, as vegan certification is costly for the producer. It is therefore worth investing the time and asking the winemaker directly.

Are vegan wines better in quality?

There are no discernible qualitative differences between conventional and vegan wines. The taste of the end product is also unchanged.

However, experts claim that the modified clarification process results in a more intensive harmonisation of the tannin structure in vegan wine, which makes the wine appear smoother.

Image source: unsplash.com / Terry Vlisidis

Why you can trust me?

Reviews